Skip to Main Content


Home / Assessments / PASA

In Pennsylvania, the PA Alternate System of Assessment (PASA) serves as the statewide alternate assessment for federal accountability. The PASA is administered in grades 3-8 and 11 in ELA (Reading and Writing) and math and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The PASA is intended for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities.

The PASA is aligned to grade-level standards and content that is reduced in depth, breadth, and complexity. This content, used in instruction and assessment, is known as PASA DLM Essential Elements.  To participate in the PASA, students must be deemed eligible by the IEP Team. The IEP team must review participation in statewide assessments annually and determine whether the student will participate in the general assessment (PSSA or Keystone Exam) or the PASA. The PASA eligibility decision is based upon the IEP Team’s ability to answer “YES” to all six PASA eligibility criteria.

Students eligible for the PASA should be receiving instruction aligned to PASA DLM Essential Elements, and the IEP must include standards-aligned goals and objectives. Decisions to participate in the alternate assessment should not be determined by an administrator, be based upon anticipated poor performance on the general assessment, or upon disability category.

Download the complete list of Essential Elements

Additional information about the PASA can be found at PaTTAN - PASA, Pennsylvania Department of Education - Assessments, and PA Dynamic Learning Maps.

Add A Content Section

Edit A Content Section

Add Content

Edit A Content Section

Delete A Content Section

Confirm Delete

Are you sure you want to permanently delete this content item.

Confirm Delete

Confirm Delete

Are you sure you want to permanently delete this section? Deleting this section will remove all the content in this section.

Please wait...

Insert Template